Speaking of the Super Bowl…

Brimstone celebrity coin toss for AFL New York Dragons vs New Orleans VooDoo 2008 at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale New York

First and foremost… I am certainly not a football fan.  I’m normally forced to watch the Super Bowl against my will every year; So… I make the best of it by treating my family by cooking some of the best goodies to eat during the game.  I call it comfort food… LoL!  Really though, I love to play sports… ANY sport actually.  I just find it painful to watch these sports on television.  This year… I personally found it MORE painful to watch the half-time show!  When I heard that the Black Eyed Peas would be performing, I figured that it would be somewhat entertaining.  As a former musician myself… I can appreciate all forms of music and have never disliked the Peas.  Well I can honestly say that this had to have been the WORST performance that I have EVER seen from a professional musical group!!!  I couldn’t handle it… even Slash couldn’t save it!  Oy vey…!!!  Now I CAN say that I DO enjoy attending the events live when I have the opportunity to.  It is a completely different vibe when you are at the event yourself and feel the energy of the crowd.  The only drawback is that I get all antsy and want to get into the action myself!  So I figured while in the spirit of the Super Bowl… I would revisit a couple of my run in’s with some of the NFL‘s best from the Giants and the J-E-T-S (Jets Jets Jets – soooo annoying…)!

Michael Strahan & Brimstone for DriveCOPD in NYC 11-4-2010

On the 4th of November last year I made my way over to Times Square to support a friend of mine who works with the charity Drive4COPD.  They were trying to reach a goal of one million signatures (which they have since accomplished) and were set-up ready to go.  The weather however was frightful and I felt bad for them; so when asked if I would stay and do press with Michael Strahan… how could I say no?  LoL, I wound up having a lot of fun with Mike and stuck around for a lot longer than I was expecting to.  As I am not a football fan… I had to get on the horn with my foozeball aficionado Justin DiGiorgi to give me a few tips as so I would at least know who the guy was.  Haha, he forwarded stats to me for like an hour and I had NO idea what he was talking about!  So I wound up chatting in between press photos and interviews about the time that I first met Darrelle Revis… which brings me to my next story! 

Brimstone & Darrelle Revis - Photo Courtesy of Wire Image

 As you have already gathered from my last story… I know very little about the players in the NFL… I probably know even less about the actual positions that these guys play!  I find myself with these guys on a regular basis while ‘red carpet’ hopping… but considering I am normally at the major NFL Draft parties in Manhattan; I wind up being in direct contact with them and it’s always the same… we are put in an initial awkward situation as we are shoved together for some impromptu press photo!  Haha, I’m not complaining as it’s a great icebreaker and I’ve made a great deal of friends in that manner; but it IS strange!  On one of these occasions, I was introduced to the NY Jets Cornerback Darrelle Revis.  We were given a quick introduction and then took about a hundred photos together before we even had the chance to talk!  When we finally did get to have a convo though… I asked him again (since I couldn’t make out what the hell the PR people were telling me) what the position was that he played.  I admittedly told him that I was incompetent when it came to football and he laughed and then spent about forty-five minutes trying to explain to me exactly what a cornerback does and why it’s an important position.  We got along well so he had his agent make sure that I was invited to his upcoming birthday event to which I accepted.

Brimstone on Red Carpet for the Football and Fashion Launch - Photo Courtesy of Getty Images

I also attended the ‘Fashion and Football’ launch to which I met a plethora of different players.  It’s funny… I’m a big guy; but some of these cats are ginormous!!!  You would be surprised at how well some of the guys clean up too… One thing we do have in common at these events is our love for Brooks Brothers clothes.  Haha, I can actually play ball with them and keep up with the conversation when it comes to good ole’ Brooks Bros…!!!  Those that know me understand that I have an affinity for my custom clothing. 

Regardless… I have a ton of different stories with different players, but I think I gave enough for now.  Hope you enjoyed my babble about a couple of memorable occasions.  I’ll have a ton of fun and interesting stories with more pics and better ‘writing’ in the autobiography once I get back on the horse.  Thanks again as always for tuning in.  It’s been a long day and an even longer night (thanks to Fergie)… Stay Gold!

About Brimstone

Brimstone is a professional wrestler, actor, author, philanthropist and comic book hero. In a nutshell, he has had a successful and rewarding career spanning well over two decades encompassing everything “entertainment.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

